Rangers Lose On Legacy Night


Boston 3 – 2 Rangers

The World’s Most Famous Arena hosted hockey’s biggest chokers on a night to commemorate the New York Rangers’ 85 years of existence. The Rangers scored first, and blew their lead, which seems to be a theme this year. I’m not going to go as far as saying the Rangers Legacy is losing, but for an Original 6 team, they sure don’t have a lot of Stanley Cups (4 in 85 years). I’m not one to complain, as ’94 was one of the greatest seasons I’ve ever enjoyed as a sports fan, but I sure wouldn’t mind another taste of Lord Stanley’s pie in NY.

Henrik Lundqvist is the best thing to happen to the Rangers since the Messiah. Every article regarding this team should begin and end with praises for The King of New York. The game winning goal tonight could be considered a softy, but even The King isn’t perfect. His 17 saves were nothing to scoff at, but Tim Thomas came up bigger for the Bruins tonight. Thomas doubled the amount of saves Lundqvist provided (34), and held strong in the final minutes to keep the Rangers from acquiring any standings points. It’s always fun to watch the head to head match ups between Thomas and The King, tonight was no exception.

Erick Christensen being bumped off the top line in the final frame was pleasing. I am not a fan of his, and I know Derek Stepan could provide at least as much offensive production with linemates like Gaborik and Frolov. E-Christ threw his teammate under the bus on Sunday, and Torts tossed him right down there with him. Brandon Prust was also pretty shaky tonight. I trust in Prust as much as anyone, but he really seems a little out of water on the third line. I vote Avery gets back on Fedotenko’s line, even though I know my vote doesn’t count.

The Rangers defense was solid. Eminger laid some hits, and made some turnovers, but overall I still appreciate his play far more than either Redden or Rozival. Del Zotto had one of his A games tonight, throwing the body, and firing pucks at the net. It’s a shame “Dizzy” hasn’t been able to put up the early season points like last year, but if he keeps his play at this level, he’ll break through sooner rather than later. Staal and Girardi were the solid top pairing that we’ve all come to expect them to be. Sauer and Gilroy were both equally keeping up with the play. Both kept themselves from making any serious turnovers, and kept the puck out of the zone every time they were called upon.

Rangers next game is at Colorado, who they failed to beat earlier in the season. This team is as wildly inconsistent in the scoring department as ever, but their effort has not been a question like past seasons. I’m hoping they can get back to their road winning ways against the Av’s. Let me know what you think on Twitter, Facebook, or Tumblr!

About JPLS
I write. I live. I love.

One Response to Rangers Lose On Legacy Night

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Rangers Lose On Legacy Night « Souvenir City Times -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment